It is not an offence in itself to be in an offside
A player is in an offside position if:
He is nearer to his opponents' goal line than both the ball and the second
A player is not in an offside position if:
He is in his own half of the field of play or he is level with the second
last opponent or he is level with the last two opponents.
A player in an offside position is only penalised
if, at the moment the ball touches or is played by one of his team, he
is, in the opinion of the referee, involved in active play by:
Interfering with play or interfering with an opponent or gaining an advantage
by being in that position.
There is no offside offence if a player receives the
ball directly from:
A goal kick or a throw-in or a corner kick.
For any offside offence, the referee awards an indirect
free kick to the opposing team to be taken from the place where the infringement
Take the Soccer Offside tour
-FIFA House Hitzigweg 11 8030 Zurich, Switzerland